AIR has signed bilateral or multilateral S&T cooperation agreements with many countries including the United States, Italy, France, Canada, Brazil, Australia, Belgium, Thailand, Egypt, and India etc. It has also inked  cooperative agreements with domestic ministries and local governments, universities, and research institutions.

By developing an international S&T cooperation platform which consists of the International Society for Digital Earth (ISDE), the International Centre on Space Technologies for Natural and Cultural Heritage (HIST) under the auspices of UNESCO, the International Programme Office for Integrated Research on Disaster Risk (IRDR IPO) , the CAS-TWAS Centre of Excellence on Space Technology for Disaster Mitigation (SDIM) and Digital Belt and Road Science Program(DBAR), AIR is now able to carry out high-level scientific research and cooperation under the framework of major international organizations such as the UN and ICSU.